The Age of Addiction

The Age of Addiction

How Bad Habits Became Big Business
Narrated by Qarie Marshall
Originally $24.99
Now $2.99
88% OFF
11 days left
Get Deal
Play Sample

Safe & Secure Payment

The Age of Addiction

How Bad Habits Became Big Business
Written by David T. Courtwright | Narrated by Qarie Marshall
A prominent scholar argues that we live in an era of addiction — encompassing everything from our smartphones to sugar and video games — and proposes a provocative path to recovery. Called “bold” and “thought-provoking” by Publishers Weekly, this sweeping book “will appeal to fans of ‘big history’ in the tradition of Guns, Germs, and Steel.”

PUBLISHER DESCRIPTION

We live in an age of addiction, from compulsive gaming and shopping to binge eating and opioid abuse. Sugar can be as habit-forming as cocaine, researchers tell us, and social media apps are hooking our kids. But what can we do to resist temptations that insidiously and deliberately rewire our brains? Nothing, David Courtwright says, unless we understand the history and character of the global enterprises that create and cater to our bad habits.

The Age of Addiction chronicles the triumph of “limbic capitalism”, the growing network of competitive businesses targeting the brain pathways responsible for feeling, motivation, and long-term memory. We see its success in Steve Wynn’s groundbreaking casinos and Purdue Pharma’s pain pills, in McDonald’s engineered burgers and Tencent video games from China. All capitalize on the ancient quest to discover, cultivate, and refine new and habituating pleasures.

Courtwright holds out hope that limbic capitalism can be contained by organized opposition from across the political spectrum. Progressives, nationalists, and traditionalists have worked together against the purveyors of addiction before. They could do it again.

Categories: Nonfiction
Release Date: May 6, 2019
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Run time: 9 hours and 16 minutes
Unabridged Audiobook

Other deals you may like...

American Slavery, American Freedom

American Slavery, American Freedom

by Edmund S. Morgan

$39.98 $2.99
93% OFF
Dopesick

Dopesick

by Beth Macy

$25.98 $3.99
85% OFF
What Remains

What Remains

by Carole Radziwill

$15.95 $2.99
81% OFF
The Anatomy of Evil

The Anatomy of Evil

by Michael H. Stone, MD

$29.99 $0.99
97% OFF
See All Current Deals

Why Chirp?

Unbeatable prices

Discover exclusive audiobook deals from your favorite authors.

No subscription required

No more monthly membership fees. You can access our deals any time for free.

Listen anywhere

Download your audiobooks to listen offline, or stream directly from our site or our free listening App.

About Us