Island in the East

Island in the East

Written by Jenny Ashcroft
Narrated by Emma Powell
Originally $26.66
Now $3.99
85% OFF
16 days left
Get Deal
Play Sample

Safe & Secure Payment

Island in the East

Written by Jenny Ashcroft | Narrated by Emma Powell
“Exotic and mysterious — I was gripped” (Dinah Jefferies): In 1941, Ivy Harcourt travels to wartime Singapore, where she discovers that her family’s past is intertwined with a decades-old love affair… A vivid, atmospheric novel of love and family secrets.

PUBLISHER DESCRIPTION

With a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama, Island in the East is the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Kate Furnivall and Tracy Rees.

Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

Singapore, 1897
Twenty-year-old identical twins, Harriet and Mae, born from a scandalous affair, have spent their lives slighted by gossips. They’ve carried each other through the loneliness, believing that together they can survive anything.

But then their mysterious benefactor sends them to Singapore to live with his relative, the watchful David Keeley, who will choose one of them to marry. In the tension of David’s house, a distance opens up between the twins, but it is only when they meet the handsome Alex Blake that their relationship truly fractures, resulting in a life-shattering betrayal with devastating consequences …

1941
Ivy, an intelligence officer with the women’s naval service, is posted to wartime Singapore. Carrying her own ghosts from Blitz-torn London, she arrives to the looming threat of a Japanese invasion. Nothing can prepare her for what’s waiting on the island—not the unexpected love, nor the strangers from her grandmother, Mae’s, past, and the shocking secrets that now echo down through the generations.

Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful, Island in the East is evocative, atmospheric and romantic historical fiction at its very best.

DETAILS

Release Date: March 15, 2018
Publisher: Little, Brown (Hachette UK)
Run time: 14 hours and 58 minutes
Unabridged Audiobook

Other deals you may like...

A Thread of Truth

A Thread of Truth

by Marie Bostwick

$22.95 $2.99
87% OFF
The Friday Night Knitting Club

The Friday Night Knitting Club

by Kate Jacobs

$22.95 $3.99
83% OFF
Sharpe's Gold

Sharpe's Gold

by Bernard Cornwell

$16.95 $3.99
76% OFF
The Girls at 17 Swann Street

The Girls at 17 Swann Street

by Yara Zgheib

$19.99 $3.99
80% OFF
See All Current Deals

Why Chirp?

Unbeatable prices

Discover exclusive audiobook deals from your favorite authors.

No subscription required

No more monthly membership fees. You can access our deals any time for free.

Listen anywhere

Download your audiobooks to listen offline, or stream directly from our site or our free listening App.

About Us