The Bus on Thursday

The Bus on Thursday

A Novel
Written by Shirley Barrett
Narrated by Katherine Littrell
Originally $19.99
Now $3.99
80% OFF
17 days left
Get Deal
Play Sample

Safe & Secure Payment

The Bus on Thursday

A Novel
Written by Shirley Barrett | Narrated by Katherine Littrell
Eleanor survives being dumped and getting diagnosed with cancer — but can she survive a new job, literal demons, zero internet or cell service (gasp), and her creepy new town? Fans of Shaun of the Dead and Welcome to Night Vale will enjoy this “intoxicating horror-humor romp” (Jeff VanderMeer).

PUBLISHER DESCRIPTION

The Bus on Thursday by Shirley Barrett is a darkly humorous audiobook about one woman’s post-cancer retreat to a remote Australian town and the horrors awaiting her.

It wasn’t just the bad breakup that turned Eleanor Mellett’s life upside down. It was the cancer. And all the demons that came with it.

One day she felt a bit of a bump when she was scratching her armpit at work. The next thing she knew, her breast was being dissected and removed by an inappropriately attractive doctor, and she was suddenly deluged with cupcakes, judgy support groups, and her mum knitting sweaters.

Luckily, Eleanor discovers Talbingo, a remote little town looking for a primary-school teacher. Their Miss Barker up and vanished in the night, despite being the most caring teacher ever, according to everyone. Unfortunately, Talbingo is a bit creepy. It’s not just the communion-wine-guzzling friar prone to mad rants about how cancer is caused by demons. Or the unstable, overly sensitive kids, always going on about Miss Barker and her amazing sticker system. It’s living alone in a remote cabin, with no cell or Internet service, wondering why there are so many locks on the front door and who is knocking on it late at night.

Science Fiction & Fantasy
Thrillers
Horror
Fiction
Supernatural Suspense
Literary Fiction

DETAILS

Release Date: September 18, 2018
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Run time: 5 hours and 41 minutes
Unabridged Audiobook

Other deals you may like...

The Insides

The Insides

by Jeremy P. Bushnell

$24.99 $0.99
96% OFF
The Crystal Cave

The Crystal Cave

by Mary Stewart

$24.95 $3.99
84% OFF
Somewhere in Time

Somewhere in Time

by Richard Matheson

$4.99 $1.99
60% OFF
The Wave

The Wave

by Walter Mosley

$20.97 $1.99
91% OFF
See All Current Deals

Why Chirp?

Unbeatable prices

Discover exclusive audiobook deals from your favorite authors.

No subscription required

No more monthly membership fees. You can access our deals any time for free.

Listen anywhere

Download your audiobooks to listen offline, or stream directly from our site or our free listening App.

About Us