The Case of the Missing Moonstone

The Case of the Missing Moonstone

Written by Jordan Stratford
Narrated by Nicola Barber
Originally $17.47
Now $15.72
10% OFF
Everyday value
Get Deal
Play Sample

Safe & Secure Payment

The Case of the Missing Moonstone

Written by Jordan Stratford | Narrated by Nicola Barber
Travel through time in this clever story perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket! Narrated with “flair and liveliness” (AudioFile), young readers will be charmed by this audiobook that blends history, mystery, and science as 11-year-old Ada Lovelace and her friend Mary Godwin form a detective agency. “Comical narration and dialogue will charm” (Publishers Weekly).

PUBLISHER DESCRIPTION

History meets mystery in this exciting new middle-grade series set in an alternate London of 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world’s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and join forces to investigate the theft of a valuable heirloom.

Eleven-year-old math prodigy Ada Lovelace, daughter of the famous and infamous poet Lord Byron, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and socially inept—but a genius. Mary Godwin, age 14, daughter of radical philosopher William Godwin and feminist writer Mary Wollstonecraft, is a romantic. It has been arranged for Mary and Ada to be tutored by the young man who calls himself Percy B. Snagsby, a nervous fellow who may or may not be a spy. Every day, Mary rides to the Byron estate in a carriage accompanied by Charles, a stowaway boy she is supposed to pretend isn’t really there and who all the while keeps his nose in a book. As the two girls become fast friends, their irrepressible curiosity leads to the formation of the secretive Wollstonecraft Detective Agency. Their first case involves a stolen pendant, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects—but these are no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.Playful historical references and witticisms abound in this comic romp featuring Newgate Prison, a renegade hot-air balloon ride across the rooftops of London, and word-play worthy of the literary characters who inhabit the story. The Case of the Missing Moonstone is funny and fanciful middle-grade fiction that is guaranteed to delight readers of all ages.

DETAILS

Release Date: January 6, 2015
Publisher: HighBridge Audio
Run time: 3 hours and 33 minutes
Unabridged Audiobook

Other deals you may like...

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell

by Chris Colfer

$14.98 $4.99
67% OFF
The Gilded Wolves

The Gilded Wolves

by Roshani Chokshi

$26.99 $4.99
82% OFF
The Cardturner

The Cardturner

by Louis Sachar

$19.00 $4.99
74% OFF
Tanglewood Tales

Tanglewood Tales

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

$16.95 $1.99
88% OFF
See All Current Deals

Why Chirp?

Unbeatable prices

Discover exclusive audiobook deals from your favorite authors.

No subscription required

No more monthly membership fees. You can access our deals any time for free.

Listen anywhere

Download your audiobooks to listen offline, or stream directly from our site or our free listening App.

About Us