With or Without You

With or Without You

A Memoir
Written by Domenica Ruta
Narrated by Domenica Ruta
Originally $17.50
Now $4.99
71% OFF
3 days left
Get Deal
Play Sample

Safe & Secure Payment

With or Without You

A Memoir
Written by Domenica Ruta | Narrated by Domenica Ruta
An “exceedingly powerful” audiobook (Booklist) that’s perfect for fans of The Glass Castle: In this New York Times bestseller called “bracingly funny and poignant” (The Boston Globe), a woman recounts her chaotic New England childhood, her troubled relationship with her mother — and her struggle to succeed on her own terms.

PUBLISHER DESCRIPTION

A haunting, unforgettable mother-daughter story for a new generation-the debut of a blazing new lyrical voice

Domenica Ruta grew up in a working-class, unforgiving Italian town north of Boston where in the seventeenth century women were hanged as witches. Her mother, Kathi, a notorious figure in this hardscrabble place, was a drug addict and sometime dealer whose life swung between welfare and riches, whose highbrow taste was at odds with her base appetites. And yet she managed, despite the chaos she created, to instill in her daughter the idea that art-via a classic film or a classical education-could transcend this life of undying grudges, self-inflicted misfortune, and the crooked moral code that Kathi and her cohorts lived by.

With or Without You is the story of Domenica’s unconventional coming of age-a darkly hilarious chronicle of a misfit ’90s childhood and the necessary and painful act of breaking away, and of overcoming her own addictions and demons in the process. In a brilliant stylistic feat, Domenica Ruta has written a powerful, inspiring, compulsively readable, and finally redemptive story about loving and leaving.

DETAILS

Release Date: February 26, 2013
Publisher: Penguin Random House
Run time: 7 hours and 12 minutes
Unabridged Audiobook

Other deals you may like...

Man's Search for Ultimate Meaning

Man's Search for Ultimate Meaning

by Viktor E. Frankl

$24.95 $4.99
80% OFF
Hiroshima

Hiroshima

by John Hersey

$19.99 $3.99
80% OFF
The Climb

The Climb

by Anatoli Boukreev & G. Weston DeWalt

$19.95 $3.99
80% OFF
Jeneration X

Jeneration X

by Jen Lancaster

$17.50 $4.99
71% OFF
See All Current Deals

Why Chirp?

Unbeatable prices

Discover exclusive audiobook deals from your favorite authors.

No subscription required

No more monthly membership fees. You can access our deals any time for free.

Listen anywhere

Download your audiobooks to listen offline, or stream directly from our site or our free listening App.

About Us